John Janssen

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt
John Janssen, born of German-Belgian parents in the Dutch town of Weert, made his first experiences as a soloist as a boy soprano. Singing was part of the daily bread with the church choir of his father, who was a church musician. One and a half hour they practiced every day. Among the works performed was the eight-voices Missa Papae Marcelli by Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina. He discovered his passion for the piano at the age of nine and started teaching himself how to play the piano, purely by ear and without notes.

At eighteen he successfully passed the piano entrance exam at the Maastricht Conservatory. He completed his studies with the pianist Jo Dusseldorp with the A-act. His singing teacher Mya Besselinck, recommended Janssen to switch to his main subject, the opera singer Hans-Günther Grimm became his teacher. During his studies at the Conservatory, he worked as a piano teacher and choir conductor. Janssen completed his singing studies with the C-Act, after which he was allowed to study further for the Prix d'Exellence, which he received three years later. In 1977 he was engaged to the Musiktheater im Revier in Gelsenkirchen. Here he was able to build up a considerable repertoire. There he was promoted and shaped primarily by GMD Uwe Mund and directors such as Marcel Bluwal, Dietrich Hilsdorf, Christian Pöppelreiter, Thomas Rübenacker and above all Göran Järvefelt (a student of Ingmar Bergmann). John Janssen had his first guest engagement in 1978 at the Hamburg State Opera in the role of Harlequin in Ariadne auf Naxos by Richard Strauss, alongside Edita Gruberova as Zerbinetta and René Kollo as Bacchus.

In 1981 he saved a performance of "La Bohème" in Gelsenkirchen when he stepped in as Rodolfo for a colleague who was ill, which earned him great enthusiasm from the press and the public alike. His wide range of voices later resulted in engagements as a tenor.

In 1982 Wolfgang Sawallisch engaged him to the National Theater of the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, where he made his debut as Conte Almaviva in Le Nozze di Figaro alongside Margaret Price as Contessa, Lucia Popp as Susanna and Hermann Prey as Figaro under Wolfgang Sawallisch's direction in the direction of Günther Rennert. This was followed by the title role in Il Barbiere di Siviglia, directed by Ruth Berghaus, for which he received the so-called Star of the Week from the Munich evening newspaper.

In the Munich Opera Festival in 1983 he sang the role of Adriano in Wagner's Rienzi. Adriano is a so called Trouser role, written for a dramatic soprano, which was cast by Wolfgang Sawallisch with a high baritone, as a contrast to the tenor role Rienzi, sung here by René Kollo. For his interpretation of Adriano he received the Festival Prize of the Bavarian State Opera and was voted Singer of the Year 1984.

John Janssen sang under world-famous conductors such as Wolfgang Sawallisch, Carlos Kleiber, Hans Zöbeley, Julius Rudel, Carlo Franci, Laurent Wagner, Miguel Gomez-Martinez, Ferdinand Leitner, Georges Prêtre, Will Humburg, Armin Jordan, Uwe Mund, Donald Runnicles, Bernhard Klee and many others.

He sang the title role in Mozart's Don Giovanni for the first time in Gelsenkirchen, then at the National Theater of the Bavarian State Opera, at the Berlin State Opera Unter den Linden, at the Drottningholmer Slottsfestspiele in Stockholm, at the Hessian State Theater in Wiesbaden, at the opera house in Sankt Gallen and Bern, Switzerland. In Bern he stepped in for Ruggiero Raimondi in a gala performance with Gundula Janowitsch. Most recently (2009) he sang Don Giovanni at the theaters of Solingen and Remscheid, in a production of the Musikhochschule Köln directed by Professor Igor Folwill. Conductor was Professor Stefan Wehr.   

The Gelsenkirchen staging of the opera Jakob Lenz by Wolfgang Rihm, directed by Thomas Rübenacker, in which John Janssen played the title role, had great success both at home and abroad and was invited to the Biennale in Zagreb, Paris, Rennes, Bonn, Munich, Frankfurt, Amsterdam and on a tour through South America to Rio de Janeiro, Belo Horizonte, Buenos Aires, Salvador Bahia and Sao Paolo. Janssen later sang Jakob Lenz in a new production at the Vienna State Opera, in Alessandria and at the Festivale Settembre Musica in Turin.

In addition to his work as an opera singer, Janssen loves to sing recitals and concerts, i.a. in the Gasteig as well as in the Herculessaal in Munich, in the Schumannhaus in Bonn, in the Basilique of Véselay and Autun, in the Teatro La Fenice in Venezia, at the Weber State University Ogden Utah (USA), in the Collegio Borromeo Pavía, in Parma Lirica Parma, in the Pallazzo Ducale Colorno and in the Cathedral of Cremona.

John Janssen sang at the following opera houses: National Theater of the Bavarian State Opera Munich, Hamburg State Opera, Berlin State Opera Unter den Linden, Vienna State Opera, Hessian State Theater Wiesbaden, Theater der Stadt Basel, Oper Bern, Theater Sankt Gallen, Teatro Municipal Rio de Janeiro, Teatro La Fenice Venezia, Drottningholms Slottsteater Stockholm, Det Kongelige Teater Copenhagen, Teatro Massimo Bellini Catania, La Zarzuela Madrid, Teatro Verdi Mantova, Teatro Verdi Sassari, Canadian Opera Company Toronto.  

In addition to his work as an opera singer, Janssen sang recitals and concerts in the following cities: Gasteig and Herculessaal Munich, Schumannhaus Bonn, Basilique Véselay, Basilique Autun, Teatro La Fenice Venezia, Weber State University Ogden Utah (USA), Collegio Borromeo Pavía, Parma Lirica Parma , Pallazzo Ducale Colorno, Cremona Cathedral, Schouwburg Heerlen and many others.  

Zurück zum Seiteninhalt

John Janssen

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt
John Janssen, geboren von deutsch-belgischen Eltern im niederländischen Weert, machte schon  als Knabensopran seine ersten solistischen Erfahrungen. Singen gehörte zum täglichen Brot mit dem Kirchenchor seines Vaters, der Kirchenmusiker war. Jeden Tag wurde anderthalb Stunden geprobt. Zu den aufgeführten Werken zählte u.a. die achtstimmige Missa Papae Marcelli von Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina. Mit neun Jahren entdeckte er seine Passion für das Klavier und fing an, sich selber das Klavierspielen beizubringen, rein nach Gehör und ohne Noten.

Mit achtzehn machte er eine erfolgreiche Aufnahmeprüfung für Klavier am Konservatorium von Maastricht. Dieses Studium beim Pianisten Jo Dusseldorp absolvierte er mit der A-Akte. Seine Gesangslehrerin Mya Besselinck empfahl Janssen, ins Hauptfach zu wechseln, und so wurde der Opernsänger Hans-Günther Grimm sein Lehrer. Während seiner Studienzeit am Konservatorium war er tätig als Klavierlehrer und Chordirigent. Janssen schloss sein Gesangsstudium ab mit der C-Akte, wonach er noch weiter studieren durfte für den Prix d'Exellence, welchen er drei jahre später erhielt. 1977 wurde er an das Musiktheater im Revier in Gelsenkirchen engagiert. Hier konnte er sich ein beachtliches Repertoire aufbauen. Er wurde dort vor allem durch GMD Uwe Mund und Regisseure wie Marcel Bluwal, Dietrich Hilsdorf, Christian Pöppelreiter, Thomas Rübenacker und vor allem Göran Järvefelt (einem Schüler von Ingmar Bergmann) gefördert und geformt. Sein erstes Gastengagement hatte John Janssen 1978 an der Hamburger Staatsoper in der Rolle des Harlekin in "Ariadne auf Naxos" von Richard Strauss, neben Edita Gruberova als Zerbinetta und René Kollo als Bacchus.

1981 rettete er in Gelsenkirchen eine Vorstellung von "La Bohème", als er für einen erkrankten Kollegen als Rodolfo einsprang, womit er gleichermaßen bei der Presse wie beim Publikum große Begeisterung erntete.  Seine außerordentliche stimmliche Bandbreite hatte später auch Engagements im Tenorfach zur Folge.

1982 engagierte ihn Wolfgang Sawallisch an das Nationaltheater der Baye­ri­schen Staatsoper in München, wo er als Conte Almaviva  in "Le Nozze di Figaro" neben Margaret Price als Contessa, Lucia Popp als Susanna und Her­mann Prey als Figaro unter Wolfgang Sawallischs Leitung in der Regie von Günther Rennert de­bütierte. Es folgte u.a. die Titelrolle in "Il Barbiere di Siviglia" in der Regie von Ruth Berghaus, wofür er den sogenannten "Stern der Woche" der Münch­ner Abendzeitung erhielt.  

In den Münchner Opernfestspielen 1983 sang er die Rolle des Adriano in Richard Wagners "Rienzi". Adriano ist eine sog. Hosenrolle, für einen dramatischen Sopran geschrieben, welche von Wolfgang Sawal­lisch mit einem hohen Bariton besetzt wurde, als Kontrast zu der Tenor-Rolle Rienzi, hier gesungen von René Kollo. Für seine Interpreta­tion des Adriano bekam er den Festspielpreis der Bayerischen Staatsoper und wurde zum Sänger des Jahres 1984 gewählt.  

John Janssen sang unter Dirigenten von Weltruhm wie Wolfgang Sawallisch, Carlos Kleiber, Hans Zöbeley, Julius Rudel, Carlo Franci, Laurent Wagner, Miguel Gomez-Martinez, Ferdinand Leitner, Georges Prêtre, Will Hum­burg, Armin Jordan, Uwe Mund, Donald Runnicles, Bernhard Klee und vielen anderen.

Die Titelrolle in Mozarts "Don Giovanni" sang er erstmals in Gelsenkirchen, danach am Nationaltheater der Bayerischen Staatsoper, an der Berliner Staatsoper "Unter den Linden", bei den Drottningholmer Slottsfestspielen in Stockholm, am Hessischen Staatstheater Wiesbaden, am Opernhaus Sankt Gallen und Bern. In Bern sprang er ein für Ruggiero Raimondi in einer Galavorstellung mit Gundula Janowitz.

Zuletzt (2009) sang er den Don Giovanni an den Theatern in Solingen und Remscheid in einer Produktion der Musikhochschule Köln unter der Regie von Professor Igor Folwill. Dirigent war Professor Stefan Wehr.

Die Gelsenkirchener Inszenierung der Oper "Jakob Lenz" von Wolfgang Rihm in einer Regie von Thomas Rübenacker, in der John Janssen die Titelrolle verkörperte, hatte sowohl im In- als auch im Ausland großen Erfolg und wurde eingeladen zur Bien­nale von Zagreb, nach Paris, Rennes, Bonn, München, Frankfurt, Amsterdam und auf eine Tournee durch Süd-Amerika nach Rio de Janeiro, Belo Horizonte, Buenos Aires, Salvador Bahia und Sao Paolo. Später sang Janssen den Jakob Lenz auch in einer Neuproduktion an der Wiener Staatsoper, in Alessandria und beim Festivale Settembre Musica in Turin.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Opernsänger sang Janssen Liederabende und Konzerte in folgenden Städten: Gasteig und Herkulessaal München, Schumannhaus Bonn, Basilique Véselay, Basilique Autun, Teatro La Fenice Venezia (Carmina Burana), Weber State University Ogden Utah (USA), Collegio Borro­meo Pavía, Parma Lirica Parma, Pallazzo Ducale Colorno, Dom von Cremona, Schouwburg Heerlen und andere.  

John Janssen sang an folgenden Opernhäusern: Nationaltheater der Bayerischen Staatsoper München, Hamburgische Staatsoper, Berliner Staatsoper "Unter den Linden", Wiener Staatsoper, Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden, Theater der Stadt Basel, Oper Bern, Theater Sankt Gallen, Teatro Municipal Rio de Janeiro, Teatro La Fenice Venezia, Drottningholms Slottsteater Stockholm, Det Kongelige Teater Kopenhagen, Teatro Massimo Bellini Catania, La Zarzuela Madrid, Teatro Verdi Mantova, Teatro Verdi Sassari, Canadian Opera Company Toronto.
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt